A: Because we believe the person giving lessons should actually be a Professional Driving Instructor (College degreed adult with no criminal/drug history). Most "driving instructors" are part-time untrained gig workers passing on their own questionable driving habits. You get a different instructor for each lesson with a different teaching method and different "opinion" about how to drive. Is that really who you want sitting next to your kid headed down the 405 at 60mph? Also, we only allow one student in the car per lesson.
A: Go to Sign Up Here and purchase the 6 Hour Driving Lesson Package (or whichever package suits you best). 6 hours is the minimum DMV behind the wheel requirement for drivers under 17 1/2. Lessons take several months to complete unless you purchase the accelerated driving lesson package.
Note: If you are younger than 17 1/2, only after completing the first two hour driving lesson and having your permit signed by our instructor, are you legally allowed to drive with your parents or a California licensed driver over the age of 25. Read page 2 of your permit for details.
You will then have two additional lessons spread over 2-6 months (You are required by the State of California DMV to drive an additional 50 (10 at night) hours with a licensed California driver over the age of 25 over the 6 month waiting period) that allows you to practice and improve your driving skills.
At the end of the third lesson, you will be issued an official Completion Certificate (DL400D) which you will present to the DMV the day of your behind the wheel test.
A. After signing up online you need to text us a picture of the first page of your permit - we cannot enter you into our system or find a lesson date without it. We will text you to schedule your first lesson. Following that, you will receive a welcome email from Drive Scout to confirm lessons and also provide written feedback via a Student Progress Report emailed after each lesson.
If you are under 18 lesson 2 typically takes place 2-3 months after lesson 1 and lesson 3 takes place 2-3 months after that (unless you purchase the accelerated package). Keep in mind its illegal to drive/practice until after the first lesson (even with your parents). You need to practice roughly 25 hours between lessons.
If you are over 18 we can shorten the time frame somewhat. However, it would still be a minimum of 4 weeks between lessons unless you purchase the accelerated package.
It is the students/parents responsibility to contact us in a timely manner to schedule lessons. Don't wait till the last minute. If you are planning on just having lessons and not getting significant practice between lessons - you are really setting yourself up to fail the Behind the Wheel test.
All lessons expire 6 months from the date you sign up. The lessons can be extended for an additional 6 months for $125.00. Lessons expire completely with no reinstatement possible after 12 months.
A: Because they use low wage, low quality driving instructors. Ask your friends about the bad experiences they have had. We hear all kinds of stuff like having the student go on errands, drive through McDonalds, pick up dry cleaning, having more than one student in the car during the lesson (illegal btw), etc.
You can get good or cheap but you can not get good AND cheap driving lessons. We get many ``do over`` students from cheap driving schools who end up paying more than if they had used us in the first place.
Groupon a pizza - not something where your loved ones safety is involved and life long habits will be formed. We are DMV approved, bonded, and insured.
A: Yes! More than likely its been a while since you had to take a behind the wheel driving test, right? We know what they will expect you to be able to demonstrate during that evaluation in order to keep your independence.
A: Lesson one: The instructor will go over dash instruments, questions (and one trick) the DMV will ask the day of the exam. Additionally, traffic safety rules, parking, lane changes, following distance, and smooth braking are among the topics covered. At end of the first lesson the instructor will sign page 2 of the permit allowing the student to legally drive with their parents.
Lesson two: Review of lesson one. If the student has made satisfactory progress, they will go on the freeway (this is optional and done if the student/parent requests to go on the freeway), practice park and reverse (will be on the test) and focus more on defensive driving techniques.
Lesson three: A review of lessons one and two with a focus on cleaning up any rough edges or bad habits. We want to make sure the student can not only pass the DMV test, but more importantly, be a safe driver once the parent and instructor get out of the car.
Finally, the student will be presented with an Official DMV Approved Completion Certificate (DL400D) that they will take with them the day of the test. This is a general overview. Some students progress slower and some faster. Each student will be evaluated and instructed based on their own ability. We will not rush a students lesson nor will we hold back a student with prior driving experience or exceptional ability. Each course is tailored to each student. In addition, there is normally a 5-10 min break after the first hour to allow both the student and instructor to refresh. Driving requires extreme focus and its good to just kind of shake if off for a second. In lieu of a break in the middle of the lesson the instructor can choose end the lesson 10 minutes early.
A: Yes, we offer several packages to meet your need. See our website for details.
A: When your driving lesson is booked, a driver is scheduled and a car is reserved for that specific day, hour, and location. Both have to be paid for even if you forgot, overslept or don't have the original permit - or any other reason that prevents you from being able to do the lesson. We send text and email reminders for upcoming lessons. It is the students responsibility to have the original permit in hand in order to start the lesson (copies are not legal). Pickup or drop-off locations cannot be changed at the last minute. Lessons are scheduled in groups based on location. A change in your location at the last minute will only be made if it fits within the behind the wheel schedule. In addition, any outstanding fees owed to SoCal will have to be paid before a completion certificate can be issued or a new lesson can be scheduled.
A: Yes! We specialize in teaching people who need a personalized approach. Not everyone learns the same. Or maybe you were involved in an accident and need a safe re-entry into the drivers seat again.
We simply ask that you tell us in advance about your situation. That way we can make sure you get to most out of your lessons. One of our students had failed 6 times over 1 year (multiple schools) - he passed with us. Parents were shocked. Let us shock you too!
A: No. No exceptions. Please make sure you are ready to commit to the driving lessons you have signed up for. If you have questions, ask them before you sign up. Not reading READ THIS FIRST before signing up is not an excuse. Any unused lessons are forfeited. Lessons must be completed within 6 months of the date you sign up. Don't wait till the last minute to try and schedule a lesson. It takes time (2-6 months) to complete lessons. If you have a specific time frame, its your responsibility to contact us before signing up to see if we can get them done. Lack of planning on your part is not an emergency on our part. Driving schools are typically booked more than two weeks in advance.
A: No - Our office is closed to the public. We operate remotely throughout Orange County using the latest sign-up/scheduling/lesson notification software in the industry. You can sign up 24/7 on our website or call/text us directly from 8am - 8pm any day of the week.
A: Yes/Maybe. Do you ever wonder why you are getting honked at since moving to California? Not sure who has the right of way in a parking lot? Can you cross solid lines, yellow lines, double lines? Can you go on a red light? Many states and counties have different driving norms. Keep in mind the DMV Behind the Wheel Test requires specific knowledge of the test procedure. Just because you can drive does not mean you can pass the DMV test.
That said its important that your English speaking and understanding ability is extremely high. Many specific driving, and direction words and phrases are used when teaching driving. If your language ability is questionable, we are not the school for you. This is not a vocabulary class. Its difficult for both the student and instructor to be in the car for 2 hours and neither able to understand what the other is saying. For example, recently an instructor told a student "at the next intersection with the red light, turn right". The student whipped the car into the next street because the only understood "turn right". That lack of fundamental language ability is unacceptable and dangerous.
A: No. A parent or spouse is not allowed to tag along on driving lessons. Why? 1) Occupational car insurance only covers one instructor and one student in the car at any time. 2) If it were you - would you really want your mom or dad (or spouse) looking over your shoulder for two hours literally being a "back seat driver"? Me either. Learning to drive is mostly fun and sometimes stressful. There is a lot going on and we need their undivided attention. If you (parent or spouse) are nervous and fear based you will pass this on during the lesson. We don't need that. And frankly neither does your student. If you feel you cannot trust your student to learn without you monitoring their every move you, not them, may not be ready for lessons. Finally, we may use a "marked" car with Driving School insignia or we may use an "unmarked" car without Driving School insignia at our discretion. In any event, all cars are DMV approved, insured, and equipped with an instructor brake as required by law and industry standard.Book A Course